Skip to main content

Buying life insurance · · 15 min read

Final expense insurance explained: coverage, cost, and who sells it

Final expense insurance is a small whole life policy meant to cover a funeral. Here is what it pays, why no-health-question plans cost more, how the two-year graded benefit works, and how to check who is selling it.

By Licensedproducer Editorial

Final expense insurance is a small whole life policy that pays cash to the person you name when you die. It's marketed to cover a funeral, but your beneficiary can spend the money on anything. Three details matter most: how the health questions work, what happens if you die in the first two years, and who is calling. This guide covers each one using regulators' and carriers' own published terms.

The short version

  • Final expense insurance, also sold as burial insurance, is a small whole life policy. The two carriers' pages cited in this guide list face amounts of $2,000 to $25,000 (online) (Mutual of Omaha) and $5,000 to $25,000 (Gerber Life).
  • Your beneficiary, the person you name, receives cash and can use it for anything; the money isn't tied to a funeral home.
  • A policy with no health questions "will cost more and provide less coverage" than one that asks them, according to the NAIC Life Insurance Buyer's Guide.
  • No-health-question policies nearly always carry a two-year graded benefit. In the two carrier examples below, a natural-cause death in those years pays back 110% of your premiums (the payments you made), not the face amount.
  • The most recent NFDA study (2023) put the median funeral with viewing and burial at $8,300 (NFDA General Price List Study). The only federal death payment is a $255 lump sum (Cornell Law School LII, 20 CFR 404.390).
  • Agents who sell these policies, independent or captive, are paid commission by the insurer. You can check any agent's license through your state insurance department (NAIC).

What final expense insurance is

Final expense insurance is whole life insurance with a small face amount, the sum paid at death. Whole life is built to last your lifetime rather than ending after a set term, which is why it's the usual form for burial coverage. To weigh it against term, see our guide to term versus whole life insurance.

The name is a sales label; regulators use their own. New York's Department of Financial Services calls it "pre-need insurance" and describes it as small-face-amount coverage bought to pay burial expenses (New York DFS). Don't confuse that with a pre-need funeral contract, covered below, which is a deal with one funeral home. Burial insurance, funeral insurance, and final expense insurance are the same product under different labels.

Each carrier sets its own limits. Mutual of Omaha's Living Promise whole life page lists $2,000 to $25,000 when bought online, for ages 45 to 85 (50 to 75 in New York). Gerber Life's no-health-question policy runs $5,000 to $25,000 for ages 50 to 80. Those are two companies' ranges, not an industry rule.

Covering a funeral is the most common reason Americans give for owning life insurance at all. In LIMRA's 2025 Insurance Barometer, 60% of Americans said they own life insurance to cover burial and final expenses, the top reason cited (LIMRA).

The benefit is cash, not a funeral

Your beneficiary gets a check and decides how to spend it. Nothing in the policy ties the money to a funeral home, a cemetery, or a casket. If the funeral costs less than the face amount, your family keeps the rest; if it costs more, they cover the gap.

That's why the person you name matters. Pick someone who will make the arrangements and pay the bills.

Simplified issue versus guaranteed issue

Final expense policies come in two underwriting styles, and the choice sets both your price and your first two years of coverage. Underwriting is the insurer's process for deciding whether to cover you and at what price.

Simplified issue policies ask health questions but skip the medical exam. If the insurer approves you, the full death benefit usually applies from day one. Mutual of Omaha's Living Promise Level plan is sold on this basis (Level meaning the full amount is payable from the start).

Guaranteed issue policies ask no health questions. Anyone in the eligible age range who pays the premium is accepted. In exchange, nearly all of these policies carry a two-year graded death benefit. Gerber Life's plan accepts ages 50 to 80 and pays 110% of premiums for a non-accidental death in the first two years.

The table puts the two carriers' pages side by side. Mutual of Omaha sells Living Promise in a Level version and a Graded version under one product name. The graded terms below come from the company's no-exam guide and its whole life page.

Mutual of Omaha Living Promise, Level Mutual of Omaha Living Promise, Graded Gerber Life guaranteed issue
Underwriting Simplified issue (per carrier; confirm on the policy) Not stated on the company's no-exam page No health questions
Issue ages 45 to 85 (50 to 75 in New York) 45 to 85 (50 to 75 in New York) 50 to 80
Face amount $2,000 to $25,000 (online) $2,000 to $25,000 (online) $5,000 to $25,000
Natural-cause death in years 1 and 2 Full face amount (per the level design; confirm on the policy) 110% of premiums paid 110% of premiums paid
Accidental death in years 1 and 2 Full face amount Full face amount Not specified on the company page
Source Carrier web page Carrier no-exam guide (web page) Carrier web page

Gerber Life's page describes its graded period in terms of non-accidental death. Read the policy itself for the accident terms before you rely on them. Read the policy itself for the accident terms before you rely on them.

Why no health questions means paying more per dollar

The trade is plain: fewer questions, higher price, smaller policy. The NAIC's Life Insurance Buyer's Guide says it directly: "a policy that doesn't require detailed health information will cost more and provide less coverage than one that does." When the insurer can't tell healthy applicants from sick ones, everyone pays a rate that assumes the worst.

Small policies also cost more per dollar than large ones. New York DFS notes that pre-need coverage "often carries a higher premium per $1,000 of coverage than larger size policies."

In dollars, Gerber Life publishes one sample: $10,000 of no-health-question coverage at age 60 costs $55.70 a month for a woman and $69.70 for a man (Gerber Life). That's a single carrier's figure, not an average. We could not find an authoritative industry-wide premium range. Treat any "typical monthly cost" in an ad as marketing until you see a rate sheet.

A policy that asks no health questions isn't a favor. You pay for the missing questions in a higher premium and a two-year limit on the payout.

Take Maria, 71, in Ohio, who can still answer a short health questionnaire. If her answers qualify her for a simplified-issue level plan, she'd get full coverage from day one at a lower price than a no-questions policy. Skipping the questions only makes sense when the answers would get her declined. Our list of questions to ask a life insurance agent starts with asking for the simplified-issue quote first.

The two-year graded death benefit

A graded death benefit means the policy doesn't pay its face amount for a natural-cause death in the first two years. The beneficiary gets the premiums back plus interest instead, 110% of premiums paid in both carrier examples here. After the second policy anniversary, the full benefit applies.

The details differ by carrier, so read each company's own language. Mutual of Omaha's guide says a non-accidental death in the first two years pays 110% of premiums paid, while accidental death pays the full amount (Mutual of Omaha).

Gerber Life returns 110% of premiums for non-accidental death during its graded period. Same arithmetic and different age limits. Gerber Life's page does not spell out what happens after an accidental death, so read the policy for that term.

Don't confuse the graded period with the contestability period. Life policies carry a two-year contestability window during which the insurer may go back and review your application if you die (Texas Department of Insurance). The graded benefit is different: a contract term that limits the payout no matter what you said on the application. It applies even when no questions were asked.

Say Maria's neighbor buys a $10,000 no-health-question policy at 79 and dies of natural causes at 80. The beneficiary receives 110% of the premiums paid, not $10,000. Level or graded is the question to settle before price.

What a funeral costs versus the $255 from Social Security

The most recent National Funeral Directors Association price study (2023) put the median funeral with viewing and burial at $8,300 (NFDA General Price List Study). Add a burial vault, the outer container placed around the casket in the grave, and the median is $9,995. A funeral with viewing and cremation had a median of $6,280. Burial costs rose 5.8% and cremation 8.1% from the 2021 study, and a median means half of funerals cost more.

Social Security does not pay for funerals. The federal lump-sum death payment is $255. It goes to a surviving spouse who was living with the deceased or, if there is none, to an eligible child.

Nothing goes to the funeral home, and the survivor must apply within two years of the death (Social Security Administration). The distance between $255 and a median funeral is the gap these policies are sold to fill.

Median funeral costs (NFDA 2023) compared with the $255 Social Security lump-sum death payment Horizontal bars. Social Security lump-sum death payment: $255. Funeral with viewing and cremation: $6,280. Funeral with viewing and burial: $8,300. Funeral with viewing, burial, and vault: $9,995. What a funeral costs versus the federal death payment Social Security lump sum $255 Viewing and cremation $6,280 Viewing and burial $8,300 Viewing, burial, and vault $9,995 Bars start at $0. Medians from the NFDA 2023 General Price List Study; $255 from 20 CFR 404.390.
Median U.S. funeral costs from the NFDA 2023 General Price List Study, compared with the $255 Social Security lump-sum death payment set in 20 CFR 404.390.

The free-look period lets you cancel for a full refund

You can return a new life policy within a set period after you receive it and get every dollar back. The NAIC's guide says this free-look window is "usually 10 days after you receive it" and that the exact period is printed on the policy's first page.

Your state sets the number of days, and three examples show the spread. North Carolina requires at least 10 days, or 20 when the policy replaces one you already own (North Carolina Department of Insurance). New York allows 10 to 30 days, and 30 days when the policy was sold by mail (New York DFS). Texas gives 10 to 20 days (Texas Department of Insurance).

Free look is your remedy when the policy that arrives doesn't match the phone pitch. Read the first page for the window, then find the graded benefit clause. If the caller said "full coverage from day one" and the contract says premiums plus 10% for two years, send it back inside the window. Rules differ by state, so confirm the specifics with your state insurance department.

Burial insurance is not the same as prepaying a funeral

A pre-need funeral contract is an agreement with one funeral home for specific goods and services. You pay ahead through a trust or an insurance policy assigned to that home. Final expense insurance is a contract with an insurer that pays cash to a person. One locks in a provider; the other keeps the choice open.

The Federal Trade Commission lists what to ask before you prepay (FTC, Planning Your Own Funeral):

  • What happens to the money you've paid, and who earns the interest on it
  • What refund you get if you cancel
  • Whether you can transfer the plan if you move or the funeral home changes hands
  • What protects you if the provider goes out of business

States regulate pre-need contracts, not the FTC's Funeral Rule, so protections vary by state (FTC Funeral Rule). If a seller proposes assigning an insurance policy to a funeral home, ask one plain question. Does the benefit go to your family or to the business?

Who sells final expense insurance

These policies reach buyers three ways: through a licensed agent in person or by phone, by mail from the insurer, or through an online application. The NAIC's guide lists all three as ways to apply. The postcard asking you to "return this card for information" is usually the first step toward a phone call from an agent.

Agents come in two kinds. Independent agents sell for several insurers and can quote more than one; captive agents sell for a single company. Both are paid a commission by the insurer, so you don't pay the agent a separate fee.

Neither kind is automatically safer: an independent has more shelves to compare, a captive has one company's products and rates. How that commission can shape a recommendation is covered in how life insurance agents get paid.

An appointment is the carrier's authorization for an agent to sell its policies. Whichever kind of agent you're dealing with, the insurer named on your application should appear among that agent's appointments.

The "state-regulated program" mailer

There is no government final expense program, state or federal. Mailers that describe a "state-regulated burial benefit" or a "new program for seniors in your state" are advertising an ordinary policy from a private insurer. States regulate insurers and license agents, but they don't sponsor or pay for burial insurance. The only federal payment at death is the $255 lump sum described above.

Maria's mailbox is where this usually starts. The card has no company name, a reply-by date, and a promise of "benefits" with no premium listed. What she has received is a lead card: a reply card that turns her into a sales lead. Mailing it back triggers a call from a licensed agent.

That agent should give a name, a license number, and the insurer's name before quoting anything. Our guide to life insurance agent red flags covers the ones who won't.

How to check the seller's license and appointments

Look the seller up before you pay a first premium. Anyone selling life insurance must hold a license from your state. The NAIC advises confirming it through your state insurance department or the NAIC Consumer Information Source. It costs nothing and takes a few minutes.

  1. Ask for the agent's full name, license number, and National Producer Number (NPN), plus the insurer's legal name. The NPN follows an agent across states; our short guide explains what an NPN is.
  2. Search the agent on your state insurance department's license lookup or the NAIC Consumer Information Source.
  3. Confirm the license is active and covers life insurance. Where your state lists appointments, check that the insurer on your application appears among them.
  4. Search the insurer too. It must be licensed in your state.
  5. Give payment information only after those checks line up.

If anything doesn't match, stop and ask. An honest agent will explain a gap; a lead-card operation will change the subject. The full walkthrough is in how to verify a life insurance agent.

Questions people ask

Is final expense insurance worth it?

It's worth it when you have no other life insurance, a funeral would strain your family, and you can keep paying the premium for life. It is a poor fit if you already hold a larger policy or could save the same money before you are likely to need it. Compare total premiums against the face amount before you sign.

How much does final expense insurance cost per month?

We found no regulator that publishes an average. The only published figure in this guide is Gerber Life's sample rate. At age 60, $10,000 of no-health-question coverage costs $55.70 a month for a woman and $69.70 for a man. Your price depends on age, sex, coverage amount, and health questions, so ask for a written quote rather than a range from an ad.

What is the two-year waiting period on burial insurance?

It's the graded death benefit found on nearly all no-health-question policies. If you die of natural causes in the first two years, your beneficiary gets premiums back instead of the face amount. In the two carrier examples here, that refund is 110% of premiums paid. Simplified-issue level plans, which ask health questions, generally pay the full amount from day one.

Does Social Security pay for funerals?

No. Social Security pays a one-time $255 lump sum to a surviving spouse who lived with the deceased, or otherwise to an eligible child. Nothing is paid to the funeral home, and the survivor must apply within two years.

What does final expense insurance not cover?

It does not buy funeral goods or services. The policy pays cash to your beneficiary, who decides how to spend it, so nothing is reserved for a funeral home. Its main limit is the graded death benefit on no-health-question policies. A natural-cause death in the first two years pays back premiums, not the face amount. Read the policy itself for any other limits before you sign.

Can I get burial insurance with no health questions?

Yes, from carriers that offer guaranteed issue policies within their age range; Gerber Life's is 50 to 80. Expect a higher premium per dollar of coverage and a two-year graded benefit in exchange for skipping the questions. If you can answer a short health questionnaire, a simplified-issue policy will usually cost less.

What to do next

Before you answer a final expense mailer or take a phone quote, ask the caller for their name, license number, and the insurer they represent. Every agent listed on Licensedproducer has had license, background, and carrier appointments checked before appearing, and is re-checked each year. A search there is one place to start. Then look them up on your state insurance department's site; your state's lookup is the final word.

Sources

Educational content only — not financial, legal, or insurance advice. Licensedproducer is an independent private directory, not a government agency, and is not affiliated with any Department of Insurance, the NIPR, the NAIC, or InsuraCentral.